Tamilnadu MLA

OPS and Sasikala parties get renamed

Political Parties headed by Sasikala and OPS get their respective party names from Indian Election Commission. The names given are AIADMK Amma and AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma for Sasikala’s party and OPS’s party respectively.
Following former Chief Minister J.Jayalalitha’s death, there is a void created at the R.K Nagar constituency. By election is scheduled for the constituency on 12th April. Parties of O. Panneerselvam and Sasikala had filed petition claiming the ‘two leaves’ party symbol as theirs.
The Indian Election Commission had inquired both the party members. And a detailed report including 5 major announcements is made. 

The two leaves symbol will belong to none and it is getting frozen.
Neither of the parties should make use of the party name AIADMK

Both the parties should choose their respective party symbol from the list of 85 preset symbols by the Election Commission. Intimation regarding the same should be submitted to the EC by or before 10 am on Thursday, today, 

The parties should also choose a name other than AIADMK and submit with the EC before the same deadline The EC had also requested submission of favorable documents within 17th April.
Following EC’s stringent order not to use the party name or party symbol, Sasikala’s party has newly named itself as AIADMK Amma. And the EC has approved the same too
AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma
Likewise, OPS party has named itself as AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma and submitted a petition with the EC. Thus both the parties have got the names AIADMK as well as Amma intact.
Independent symbol
T.T.V Dinakaran had asked OPS to compete in the by-election with independent symbol. He who said so will also contest in the election with independent symbol only.